On February 13, the court overturned the previous decision on release and sent Boris Kagarlitsky to prison for five years.


Dear friends,

It is my great pleasure no longer to be writing to you from a prison cell and to be making use of all the opportunities freedom, real if limited in certain ways, affords. During four and a half months each of us has carried on a common struggle in their own way. In a certain sense, for me it was easier: all I had to do was remain calm and wait. Everyone else—those who signed letters, wrote articles, held demonstrations, spoke at meetings, collected funds—had to act not knowing how effective it would be and if it would produce any results. Only in retrospect do we know that none of this effort was wasted and that ultimately we would reach our goal.

I cannot write words of thanks to each of you, since I'm not acquainted or in touch with everyone. But I am sincerely and deeply grateful to everyone who took part in this campaign; I understand and value the contribution of each of its participants.
Unfortunately, our success is not final: I, together with my wonderful attorney Sergei Erokhov, will still have to do battle in the courts, because the prosecution has appealed the verdict and it seems that someone in Russian official circles has not given up hope of putting me back behind bars. We continue to defend the justice of our position, and we still rely on your support and solidarity.

Many tasks lie ahead. Political prisoners not only in Russia but worldwide still need our support, along with the many people who are being pressured and persecuted while not being leaders of social movements or prominent activists. It is not enough to free only one or two famous people, political figures and intellectuals; the main task is to change society. This is the great work we are all doing and will continue to do.
  • Jean-Luc Mélenchon
    Co-director of La Boétie Institute, French Presidential candidate of The Popular Union in 2022
  • Stefania Prezioso Batou
    Swiss historian, university professor and politician, member of Solidarity and later Résistons, member for the canton of Geneva in the Swiss National Council since December 2019.
  • Slavoj Žižek
    Slovenian philosopher, cultural theorist and public intellectual
  • Nadya Tolokonnikova
    Russian member of the feminist punk band Pussy Riot, co-founder of the online publication Mediazona and the prisoner rights organization Zona Prava, former member of the Voina art group.
  • Jeremy Corbyn
    British politician, Leader of the Labour Party from 2015 to 2020, member of Parliament
  • Enzo Traverso
    Italian and French Marxist historian, professor of political science at the University of Picardy in Amiens.
  • Donatella Della Porta
    Professor of political science, dean of the Faculty of Political and Social Sciences and Director of the PD program in Political Science and Sociology at the Scuola Normale Superiore in Florence.
  • Miguel Urbán Crespo
    Spanish activist and politician, member of the European Parliament since 2015.
  • Kavita Krishnan
    Secretary of the All India Progressive Women's Association
  • Grigory Yudin
    Russian sociologist, expert on public opinion and polls in Russia.
  • Christof Mauch
    Director of the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society in Munich, Germany,[1] and since 2007 professor of American Cultural History and Transatlantic Relations at Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich.
  • Mario Pianta
    President of the 'Istituto di studi avanzati Carlo Azeglio Ciampi' of the Scuola Normale Superiore, President of the Società Italiana di Economia (SIE) and co-chief editor of the journal Structural Change and Economic Dynamics (Elsevier).
  • Ed Broadbent
    Canadian politician, political scientist, leader of the New Democratic Party (1975-1989), member of Parliament of Canada (1968-1990, 2004-2006)
  • Jon Wiener
    American historian and journalist, professor emeritus of United States history at the University of California
  • Bohdan Krawchenko
    Former director of the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies of the University of Alberta in Canada and former vice-rector of the National Academy for Public Administration under the President of Ukraine in Kyiv, Ukraine.
  • Bill Fletcher Jr
    American journalist and broadcaster
  • Étienne Balibar
    French philosopher, professor of political philosophy at the University of Paris X-Nanterre (as well as the University of California at Irvine), teacher of French and English and contemporary literature.
  • Alex Callinicos
    British political theorist and activist
  • Dmitry Spirin
    Formerly leader of Russia punk rock band «Tarakany!»
  • J. Arch Getty
    American historian and professor at the University of California
  • Kevin B. Anderson
    American sociologist, professor at University of California
  • Martin Bana
    Historian, professor at the University of Buenos Aires
  • Ken Loach
    British film director and screenwriter, two-time winner of the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival
  • Tariq Ali
    Pakistani-British political activist, writer, journalist, historian, and public intellectual
  • Farooq Tariq
    Politician Pakistan, General Secretary of the Pakistan Kissan Rabita Committe
  • Bettina Müller
    German politician of the Social Democratic Party, member of the Bundestag
  • Laurent Thévenot
    French sociologist Professor at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (Paris)
  • Kerstin Kaiser
    Leiterin Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung Moskau 2016-2022, Partei DIE LINKE
  • Audun Lysbakken
    Member of the Norwegian Parliament, former leader of the Socialist Left Party of Norway
  • Naomi Klein
    Canadian author, social activist, and filmmaker known for her political analyses, support of ecofeminism, organized labour, leftism and criticism of corporate globalization, fascism, ecofascism and capitalism.
  • Anthony Barnett
    Co-founder, openDemocracy, modern English writer and campaigner
  • Walden Bello
    Filipino academic who served as a member of the House of Representatives of the Philippines. He is an international adjunct professor at Binghamton University, professor of sociology and public administration at the University of the Philippines Diliman, and executive director of regional policy think-tank Focus on the Global South. Bello is also the founder and chairperson of the left-wing alliance Laban ng Masa.
  • Jayati Ghosh
    Indian development economist. She is the Chairperson of the Centre for Economic Studies and Planning at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
  • Ilya Budraitskis
    historian, social theorist and art critic, member of the editorial board of "Art Magazine" and LeftEast

map of solidarity
with Boris Kagarlitsky
Made on